Home » Stamp Act

Participants of the Stamp Act Congress

Representatives from nine colonies attended the Stamp Act Congress.

From Massachusetts: James Otis, Samuel Adams, Oliver Partridge and Timothy Ruggles.

From Rhode Island: Henry Ward and Metcalf Bowler

From Connecticut: William Johnson, Eliphalet Dyer and David Rowland.

From New York: Phillip Livingston, William Bayard, John Cruger, Robert Livingston and Leonard Lispinard.

From Pennsylvania: John Morton, George Bryan and John Dickinson.

From New Jersey: Hendrick Fisher, Robert Ogden and Joseph Gordon.

From Delaware: Caesar Rodney and Thomas McKean.

From Maryland: Edward Tilghman, Thomas Ringgold and William Murdock.

From South Carolina: John Rutledge, Thomas Lynch and Christopher Gadsden.

Secretary: John Cotton

President: Timothy Ruggles from Massachusetts.


Related Information


What is the Stamp Act?

A tax paid on legal documents such as bills of sale, wills, contracts and paper printed for official documents, newspapers, pamphlets, posters and even playing cards.

Stamp Act crisis and significance

The colonial population realized that they had to be involved in the political process in order to be economically independent and set a pattern of resistance that led to the American independence.

Economic causes of the Stamp Act

The mercantilistic economic policy of Britain led the Americans to develop their own economic ideology which led to the Independence War, a separation of America from the oppressive motherland.

Resolutions of the Stamp Act Congress

Official document of the resolutions of the Stamp Act Congress

Repeal of the Stamp Act

The Stamp Act never took effect as violence and intimidation left the colonies without stamp officials, while theĀ  boycott of British goods led the Prime Minister Marquis of Rockingham to nullify the Stamp Act in 1766.

Facts about the Stamp Act

Interesting facts about the Stamp Act.

Original text of the Stamp Act



Back to Stamp Act History Homepage

Comments are closed.